A Guilded Gotham Mystery Series

Kate Belli


Rating: 4 out of 6.

Book One: Deception by Gaslight

Book Two: Betrayal on the Bowery

Book Three: Treachery on Tenth Street

Book Four: Opulence and Ashes

Set in Manhatten in the Gilded Age, these books are light cozy mysteries.

After Genevieve Stewart, whose family is part of Mrs. Astor’s famed 400, was jilted by her fiance, she decided to forge her own way. Becoming a reporter for the local newspaper is a way to get her mind off the fact that she is quickly becoming a spinster. It also gets her into scrapes with the locals.

In Deception by Gaslight, a jewel thief has been dubbed Robinhood since he steals from the rich and helps the poor. Genevieve is bound and determined to find out who it is. Things get sticky as she follows some toughs into a dark alley in the dangerous Five Points neighborhood. A handsome man comes to her rescue. Daniel McCaffrey is the local rags to riches succes story and the most elgible bachelor in New York City. But is he actually Robinhood?

All of these books are set in Manhatten and Genevieve and Daniel are the main characters. I liked them both a lot, besides the fact that Genevieve is very much the one in control. She usally gets her way in whatever situation they find themselves in. I don’t like that attribute in her, but it really doesn’t change the fact that the stories are interesting and the mystery is a good read for a windy spring night.

Do you like mystery stories? If so, what are your favorites?

2 responses to “A Guilded Gotham Mystery Series”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s